isp

directory scandal!
Menu

Sun Oct 12 2008

Web-Mastery Webmaster Forum

Sun Oct 12 2008

Home

directory scandal!


all is quiet on th western front it seems.. or is it?


Expect the unexpected. But then again, if you expect the unexpected then it becomes expected and then trully unexpected might happen :lol: Andrey


Well .. now that you've said that.. there will definantely be a problem LOL .. I lay odds this week some sort of drama will happen...


Is it because you are bored and you want something interesting to happen or is it because...wait...i guess there is no other reason unless you are :twisted: and you want all directories to go down. Andrey P.S. Help me out here, what was the name of the movie I "stole" previous post from?


one time i submitted my site to dmoz and it never got in. im pretty sure the editor was a competitor of mine!


I've never gotten in DMOZ either. I think the editor is just lazy and stupid :) I've submited three times in the last two years. >.<


Same here but they dont get paid for this so who can really blame them.


Edwin, become an editor and you will one of the first to know if there will happen a scandal in JoeAnt.com :twisted: Hugo


i think that's exactly what i will do. i can take bribes from people who want to get in!


Someone used the Feedack Form to write me this missive: "Hello. My name is <Name Removed> and I am reporting a customer of yours, skaffe.com, which is listed in your directory. I am very sorry if this is not the right place to do this. Skaffe.com is currently under active investigation by the FBI in Washington, D.C., for among other things, internet theft, fraud, blackmail and extortion. Skaffe.com is a small group of people, who illegally stole government copyrighted data, money, graphics, etc...from an internet directory called GoGuides.Org. They then put it up under a new name, skaffe.com. All data they stole was copyrighted and they are in a lot of trouble over this. As I said, they are under active investigation by the FBI. I do not think you want to become involved in an FBI investigation. Everytime they logs on to their email accounts and do anything at all with skaffe.com, they are breaking federal law. Myself, and the remaining legal owner of GoGuides.Org and all of the data in skaffe.com thought you should be awa! re of what skaffe.com is illegally doing. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact me at <email removed> or <phone number removed> Thank-you, and again, I apologize if this is not the correct place to report this, but I could find nowhere else to do so. Regards, <Name Removed> GoGuides.Org"


We have a full blown Directory Scandal after all involving the FBI and various other intrigues. I'm not sure why the inference that Skaffe.com is a customer of Web-Mastery.net. We have provided a link to them as a place for webmasters to submit their website. And now the FBI is coming down on me? Well Coppers, you'll never take me alive. Say hello to my little friend.... Anyway, this strikes me as scandalous. Why would my website be dragged into this sordid affair?


..maybe edwin just got what he asked for.. although it sounds fishy to me..


Maybe Edwin wrote the email. P) I'm not even sure that the email is legit but if it is, I don't like it. No way is the FBI getting involved with who links to who. Sounds a lot more like a webmaster concerned with PageRank.


Isn't someone innocent until proved otherwise? And if people are allowed to use Kazaa (according to the Dutch law is Kazaa legal!), how can someone who uses Skaffe being guilty of something? I think the mail is from R.B. Correct me if I'm wrong :D Hugo PS I'm not related to GoGuides or Skaffe


I think this e-mail is bull****. They would never contact you like that. You have nothing to do with skaffe.com and I'm sure there were hundreds of sites linking to that directory. Are they gonna investigate everyone? Come on. Probably just a stupid joke. Andrey


The email does have a woman's name and a phone number. I guess I could call but I can't really see the point of that. If it is, in fact, GoGuides, it strikes me as bad form. Threatening site owners to remove links from a competitor is a bit much. Why can't Skaffe.com and GoGuides.org both exist? I can honesty say you really shouldn't have your data stolen. If others are working on it, you need to still have a backup.


Nice to see this scandal get dusted off! We never did figure out what all transpired since the GoGuides/Skaffe schism. Now that the FBI is involved this is more interesting. Tom I hope you're not arrested for that link. That woud be very traumatic.


The FBI "threat" is ridiculous. Does Google get penalized for having links to illegal websites? Does DMOZ? The only who would benefit from such a link being removed would be the directory who had their data "stolen". I think they would be better served getting on with their lives and building their directory.


We have a policy at Skaffe to not air our dirty laundry in public but we do want to apologize for this persons irate ranting. It’s nothing that concerns us even remotely and hate to see this type of bad publicity generated for the GoGuides directory. We have a working relationship with RB the majority owner and domain owner of GoGuides and this letter was assuredly not sent with his consent.


:idea: How about we just accept that letter as a bad joke from someone with a lot of free time and forget about the whole thing. Andrey


We can just chalk it up as an "internet mystery" and move on. Hopefully there are other scandals brewing now.


How about we create a scandal of our own :wink:


sounds like fun! OK, *clears throat* Strange results apeared on DMOZ one day... a scandal had broken out *evil music*

Most Popular Stories
Broadband ISP