isp

FREE HOSTING and DOMAIN NAME?
Menu

Fri Nov 21 2008

Web-Mastery Webmaster Forum

Fri Nov 21 2008

Home

FREE HOSTING and DOMAIN NAME?


its possible that they can do that. the domains cost them about $6 in bulk so if they want customers bad enough they could do that as an incentive.


someone in another forums said something interesting. Re: FREE HOSTING and DOMAIN NAME? « Reply #1 on: Today at 06:26:40pm » -------------------------------------------------------------------------------- There have been large companies that have run free specials before. 1&1 offered a free account for 3 years late last year. They have such a large customer base, that they could afford to absorb the influx of free customers. They are banking on these customers staying for the 3 years, and beyond. It's definately a gamble, but 1&1 will survive. As for this company, I am not sure. I have never heard of them and I can't find anything about them. Their domain has been registered since 1999, so that suggests they have been around for a while. Not much help I know, but it's the best I could dig up. I know thay have been around a long time and i also know many that host with them, but no one seems to know about the free deal. Even webrun doesn't wanna speak about it. Also I think that they would probably keep the domain name but my brother says that they gave him the password for the domain name which was registered using enom. The funny thing is that even my brother doesn't know about it :D He was just signed up somehow. Thanks for all your replys, Yaki


It's probably best to own your own domain name. What happens to your site if the host went under?


if you keep back-up copies and they dont ask for any personal information you don't want to give, i would give it a shot! EDIT: i whent to the site and dont see free hosting. oh, and also if you put your mouse over the "tour" link it says, "...what you will get with your webrun.net web hosting [b:6f19b22e38]acoung[/b:6f19b22e38]" It's really funny! im not sure these guys are acomplished enough to go for. dunno, good luck ^-^


Ok I got some heads up on this stuff from someone who has done this and here what you need to do. First you gotta email freeone@webrun.net Your subject has to be [b:8950024eaf]Free offer #6623217 US WEBMASTER Promo[/b:8950024eaf] In your email you have to included the following: [list:8950024eaf] [*:8950024eaf]Your Name [*:8950024eaf]Name of your site [*:8950024eaf]What your going to use hosting for [*:8950024eaf]Your location (state) [*:8950024eaf]And how many sites you have [/list:u:8950024eaf] I did this they emailed me back and asked for my address I asked them why they needed that and they said that they must have it in order to ensure that I dont violate thier terms of service like spam and stuff like that. However, They didn't give me a free domain but they did give me free hosting, Also the person who gave me this info said that you have to be a webdesigner in order to qualify. As far as all the info that has to be in the subject line and included in the email ,I don't know if you have to (must) do it they way I said above but that's how the person told me I have to do it. After I gave them the info they wanted, my account was setup 3 hours later. I waited a while before giving you guys this info just because I wanted to make sure they weren't gonna spam me to death since they had my email. But as far as I can say their speed is very fast I have an uncapped sb4100 here and I get like 600kbps (my limit) down when I download from my account that they gave me. Oh I forgot to say what I got, I got 150MB space and 20GB bandwidth with 150 pop3 emails (this plan doesn't appear to be on the site). So I guess you guys can give it a try too I don't know if there is a limit on how many you can do but I heard that there is a 2 sign up offer per state (not sure if this is true) But I do know that when I gave them my addy the compared it with the whois info for the site that I told them I have, also they emailed the email addy on the whois with a confirmation request to make sure I am the owner.Probably did this to make sure one person doesnt sign up for 100 offers. Anyways I guess you can try it if you want. Good Luck, Yaki


thanks for letting us know.

Most Popular Stories
Broadband ISP